Our goal is to make the Impossible™ available to anyone and everyone. If there are certain types of ingredients that you make a point of eating (or not eating), read on:
The Impossible Burger is Halal certified by Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA).
The Impossible Burger is kosher certified by the Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America (OU).
The Impossible Burger is plant based, with no animal products or byproducts.
We make heme with genetically modified yeast. Read our stance on GMOs here.
We’re committed to using sustainable, scalable, and high-quality ingredients -- and are flexible in our sourcing so that we can keep reducing our environmental footprint whenever better options become available. In other words, we use the most sustainable suppliers, without being rigid about their current labels (such as "non-gmo").
The Impossible Burger is not organic. We rigorously vet our suppliers to ensure we’re making the safest and most sustainable choices for our consumers and the environment, regardless of labels.
We also screen our product for pesticides, herbicides, and fungicides. While we cannot guarantee that there are no trace pesticides present, our most recent testing did not detect the presence of any pesticides, including glyphosate.